Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Research » Meet Our Researchers

Meet Our Researchers

Researchers at EUC apply interdisciplinary perspectives to study the processes that drive environmental change and the dynamics of urbanizing societies. Through our research we seek to address the challenges of environmental management, urban planning, and mobilizing for social justice and sustainability. Together, we are a community of urban, environmental and geographical researchers addressing some of the planet’s most pressing problems and challenges.

Faculty Profiles

Name Research Interests Email
Bain, Alison L

Urban Social Geography; Artistic Labour and Arts-Led Urban Development; Queer Geographies; Feminist Pedagogies

abain@yorku.ca
Basu, Ranu

Urban, Social and Political Geography; Critical Geographies of Education; Collective Action; Migrant Communities; Critical GIS

ranubasu@yorku.ca
Bello, Richard L

Climate Science; Northern Environments; Physical Hydrology; Carbon Dynamics; Urban Environments

bello@yorku.ca
Birch, Kean D.

Innovation; Assetization & Rentiership; Digital & Data Economies; Finance & Technoscience; Bio-Economy; Sustainability Transitions

GPDsts@yorku.ca kean@yorku.ca
Bunch, Martin J

Ecohealth & Ecosystem Approaches; Watershed Management; Complex Systems; GIS; Ecological Footprint

bunchmj@yorku.ca
Campbell, Mora

Environmental Ethics & Philosophy; Spirituality, Ethics, & Nature; Contemplative, Phenomenological & Narrative Forms of Inquiry

moracamp@yorku.ca
Colla, Sheila R.

Pollinator Conservation; Endangered Species; Community Science; Environmental Policy; Bumblebees

srcolla@yorku.ca
Das, Raju J

Marxist Political Economy; Theory of Class and State; Uneven Capitalist Development; Identity, Fascistic, & Class Politics; India

rajudas@yorku.ca
Drezner, T

Deserts & Arid Lands; Plant-Climate Interactions; Disturbance & Invasion; Biogeography

drezner@yorku.ca
Etcheverry, Jose

Climate Change Mitigation; Renewable Energy Policy; Rural Electrification

rejose@yorku.ca
Fawcett, Leesa K

Animal Studies; Biological Conservation; Political Ecology; Indigenous Knowledges; Feminist Science & Technology Studies

lfawcett@yorku.ca
Flicker, Sarah

Adolescent Sexual & Reproductive Health; Community-Based Participatory Research; HIV/AIDS; Community Development

flicker@yorku.ca
Ford-Smith, Honor

Performance & Social Movements; Race, Gender, Nation; Colonialism & Post-Colonialism; Caribbean Societies/Diasporas

hoperoad@yorku.ca
Foster, Jennifer J

Urban Environmental Justice; Habitat Creation & Novel Ecologies; Political Ecology; Urban Environmental Aesthetics

jfoster@yorku.ca
Fraser, Gail

Waterbird Ecology; Wildlife Management; Protected Area Management; Environmental Management of Offshore Oil & Gas

gsfraser@yorku.ca
Gilbert, Liette

Cities; Migrations; Social & Environmental Justice

gilbertl@yorku.ca
Gosine, Andil

Environmental Arts; Environmental Justice; Caribbbean Sexualities

andil@yorku.ca
Haritaworn, Jinthana K.

Urban Justice; Transnational Race, Gender & Sexuality Studies; Feminist/Queer/Trans Of Colour Theories & Activisms

haritawo@yorku.ca
Hoicka, Christina E.

Energy Advocacy & Energy Justice; Participation & Planning In Energy Transitions; Community Energy

cehoicka@yorku.ca
Hovorka, Alice J.

Human-Environment Geographies; Animal Geographies; Gender & Environment; Urban Geography; Southern Africa

eucdean@yorku.ca
Hyndman, Jennifer M

Geographies of Violence; Forced Migration; Humanitarian Emergencies; Migration Politics; Refugee Settlement In Canada

jhyndman@yorku.ca
Kapoor, Ilan

Critical Development Studies; Postcolonial and Psychoanalytic Theory; Participation/Democracy; Celebrity Humanitarianism

ikapoor@yorku.ca
Keil, Roger H

Global Suburbanisms; Infectious Disease & Cities; Urban Political Ecology; Urban Infrastructures; Urban Governance & Planning

rkeil@yorku.ca
Kelly, Philip Francis

Labour Migration; Transnationalism; Youth; Economic Geography; Immigration; Class-based inequality; Canada and Southeast Asia

pfkelly@yorku.ca
Kipfer, Stefan Andreas

Urbanization; Urban Politics & Planning; Social & Political Theory; Theories of Space, Politics & Society

kipfer@yorku.ca
Korosi, Jennifer B.

Lakes; Environmental Change; Environmental Contaminants; Permafrost Thaw; Biogeochemistry; Biogeography

jkorosi@yorku.ca
Kusno, Abidin

Architecture; Cultural Studies; History; Politics; Urban Studies; Indonesia

akusno15@yorku.ca
Lehrer, Ute A

Global Suburbanism; Political Economy of The Built Environment; Planning, Urban Design & Architecture; Ethnicity & Immigration

lehrer@yorku.ca
Lunstrum, Elizabeth M.

Political Ecology; Conservation; Human-Wildlife Interactions; People-Park Relations; Borders; Indigenous-Led Conservation

lunstrum@yorku.ca
MacRae, Roderick J.

Canadian Food Policy and Food Systems; Regulatory Frameworks for Pesticide & GE Crops

rmacrae@yorku.ca
McAllister, Carlota

Anthropology; Latin American & Caribbean Studies; Religion; Revolution; Political Ecology; Political Theology

carlota@yorku.ca
McGregor, Deborah

Indigenous Environmental Justice; Indigenous Governance; Sustainability; Water Governance; Indigenous Intellectual Traditions

dmcgregor@osgoode.yorku.ca
Mensah, Joseph

Culture & Cultural Studies; Transnational & Return Migration; Ethno-Racial Identity Formation; African Development

jmensah@yorku.ca
Montoya, Phillip J.

Environmental Anthropology; Peasant Livelihoods; Biocultural Diversity; Ethnographic & Art-Based Methodologies.

fmontoya@yorku.ca
Mulvihill, Peter R.

Environmental Management; Environmental Assessment; Environmental Disasters; Environmentalism

prm@yorku.ca
Myers, Lisa

Visual Art; Indigenous Art; Curatorial Practice, Art Theory & Criticism; Food Studies Related to Art, Value & Land

lismyers@yorku.ca
Peake, Linda J.

Urban Geographies; Feminist and Anti-Racist Geographies; Feminist Methodologies; Mental Health in the Academy; Guyana

lpeake@yorku.ca
Perkins, Patricia Elaine

Climate Justice; Commons Governance; Participatory Watershed Management; Feminist Ecological Economics

esperk@yorku.ca
Podur, Justin J

Geopolitics & Media Narrative; Western Intervention & Local Dynamics in War; Quantitative Methods & GIS; Landscape Ecology

jpodur@yorku.ca
Preston, Valerie Ann

Immigration; Gender Issues; Urban Labour & Housing Markets vpreston@yorku.ca

vpreston@yorku.ca
Remmel, Tarmo K

Forestry; Remote Sensing; Geographic Information System; Spatial Pattern Analysis; Geomatics

remmelt@yorku.ca
Rotz, Sarah

Political Ecology; Land & Food Justice; Settler Colonial Studies; Critical Data Studies; Critical Theory & Methods

rotzs@yorku.ca
Sandberg, L. Anders

Political Economies & Ecologies of Natural Resources; Climate/Environmental Justice; Forestry & Conservation History

sandberg@yorku.ca
Sandilands, Catriona A H

Environmental Humanities; Queer, Multispecies & Feminist Ecologies; Critical Plant Studies; Biopolitics

essandi@yorku.ca
Scott, Dayna N

Environmental Justice; Gender & Environmental Health; Feminist Theory Of The Body; Risk, Regulation & Governance

dscott@osgoode.yorku.ca
Sotomayor, Luisa

Equity Planning; Urban Policy & Governance of Housing; Community Planning; Informality; Urban Politics; Latin America

sotomay@yorku.ca
Stiegman, Martha L.

Indigenous Knowledge, Rights & Food Sovereignty; Food Justice Movements; Visual Arts-Based Methodologies

stiegman@yorku.ca
Taylor, Laura E

Urban & Regional Planning; Climate Change; Political Ecology Of Exurbia; Exurban & Peri-Urban Planning; Rural Planning

taylorl9@yorku.ca
Thiemann, Gregory W

Arctic Ecosystems; Food Web Ecology; Wildlife Conservation; Resource Management; Animal Physiology

thiemann@yorku.ca
Thienpont, Joshua

Quaternary Environments; Landscape Disturbance; Permafrost Thaw; Aquatic Ecosystems; Arctic Coasts

jthienpo@yorku.ca
Timmerman, Peter

Environmental Ethics; Environmental Conflict; Coastal City Management

ptimmer@yorku.ca
Tufts, W. Steven

Labour Geography; Urban Economic Development; Labour Market Adjustment; Populism

tufts@yorku.ca
Vandergeest, Peter

Political Ecology; Asia; Migration; Labour; Fishing; Forestry; Agrofood

pvander@yorku.ca
Warkentin, Traci

Environmental Education; Feminist Environmental Ethics & Philosophy; Animal Studies; Novel Urban Ecologies

traciw@yorku.ca
Winfield, Mark S

Sustainable Energy; Climate Change; Environmental Policy; Environmental Law

marksw@yorku.ca
Wood, Patricia

Citizenship & Governance; Settler Colonialism; Cities; Political Ecology; Cultural Geographies.

GeoGPD@yorku.ca pwood@yorku.ca
Young, Kathy Lynn

Arctic Hydrology; Hydrology of Extreme Environments; Snow Hydrology; Arctic Slope Hydrology

klyoung@yorku.ca
Zalik, Anna

Global Political Ecology; Extraction; Agrarian Studies; Anti/Post-Colonialism; Oil & Financialization

azalik@yorku.ca